Don’t Say “Jesus” American Idol

I guess my indiganation comes from the powers that be on America’s highly watched American Idol.  Here is my question:  Why does the name “Jesus” cause so much pursuit for political correctness?  What is it about presenting the message of Jesus as a truth, or even possible truth, that frustrates people?

Here is the back story that framed my mood.  Over the past two weeks two songs have been presented that highlight the persona and divinity of Christ.  One in a satirical manner (I’m all about having fun so don’t get me wrong here).  One in a manner to extol.  However, the powers that be decided to change the lyrics in the song that presented Jesus as one worthy of praise, while ignoring the other song completely.   They replaced the word “Jesus” with the word “Comfort.”

I ask again:  Why does there mention of Jesus throw people into such a political nightmare?  I remember reading a quote that said “some people stumble over the truth every day, only to pick themselves back up, dust themselves off, and continue like nothing ever happened.”

The name Buddha, Brahma or even Batman wouldn’t cause such alarm.  Maybe it’s just me but it left a disappointment about me.  If truth is really that freeing.  If the truth will always stand.  Why is it rejected?

Leave a comment