No Strings Attached (part 2)

Pastor Troy spoke on the issue of biterness over the weekend.  An interesting topic I must say because it impacts us all to some degree.  It made me think about my relationships with those around me currently and those who used be in my world.  So, how do I really handle forgiveness?

Troy’s challenge focused more on forgiving people without the expectation of anything in return.  True, forgiving to get something back is much easier.  Like not having a memory that looses constant pain for instance.  That would be nice.

I wonder how God handles forgiveness?  Knowing full well that those He forgives will spurn hatred, malice and the most absolute meaning of abhorrence back in His face.  Love is given and love is rejected, and yet God handles the pain.  But maybe that is what real forgiveness is:  a continuous act to overlook an offence that expects nothing in return. 

I hope that I can always live like that…

Leave a comment